Our Board

Our Board

A board of seven directors manages the direction and monitors the performance of SA Water, meeting at least 10 times per year.

Board Directors


Andrew Fletcher AO
Appointed: August 2018

Andrew Fletcher AO

Andrew Fletcher is a highly respected engineer with more than 45 years’ experience in senior leadership and management roles in global engineering and construction, infrastructure and defence industries.

He has extensive corporate governance experience in both the private and public sectors, and has strong networks in the State and Federal Governments and throughout South Australian business and industry sectors.

John Bastian AM
Non-Executive Director
Appointed: August 2018

John Bastian

John is an experienced board director in both the public and private sector. A grape grower in the Clare Valley and former BRW Magazine Business Leader of the Year, he has been involved in a range of agribusinesses including meat, grain, dairy and wine. He was formerly Deputy Chair of the SA Economic Development Board. John has also been president of the Clare Regional Wine Grapes Association and a member of the Wine Grape Council of South Australia.

Janet Finlay
Non-Executive Director
Appointed: August 2018

Janet Finlay

Janet is a chartered accountant and experienced business adviser accustomed to working in a highly regulated and complex legislative environment, providing business, tax and accounting advice to clients across a range of industries.

She is also:

  • Member and deputy chair of the State Planning Commission of South Australia
  • Member of the Libraries Board of South Australia
  • Director of St John Ambulance Australia SA Inc and chair of Community Care Committee

Janet’s previous roles include:

  • Partner and business unit director, EY
  • Member of the Property Council of Australia, SA finance and tax committee
  • Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants (now CAANZ), South Australian regional council

Chris Ford
Non-Executive Director
Appointed: August 2019

Chris Ford

Chris is a Chartered Engineer with 23 years’ experience in utilities and local government, of which 14 years have been in the water industry in Australia and the UK.

He has extensive experience as a leader of digital transformation, technology and cyber security and is currently General Manager Innovation and Technology at SA Power Networks.

Chris is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD) and has previously held executive and non-executive director roles in the UK.

Fiona Hele
Non-Executive Director
Appointed: August 2018

Fiona Hale

Fiona is a non-executive Director with ASX300 public company experience and an experienced Audit & Risk Chair.  Fiona is a Chartered Accountant and business advisor with over 25 years of experience, advising organisations on finance and strategy, mergers and acquisitions, risk management and people and culture across a diverse range of industries. Fiona has a strong commercial and finance background with a practical understanding of both the public and private sectors.

Current Board positions include:

  • Non-Executive Director SeaLink Travel Group (ASX300, SLK)
  • Non-Executive Director Adelaide Venue Management Corporation
  • Non-Executive Director Prime Q
  • Non-Executive Director Celsus

Fiona’s previous roles include:

  • Director, Perks & Associates Pty Ltd
  • Board Member, South Australian Tourism Commission
  • Board Member and Treasurer, Adelaide Fringe

Sue Filby
Non-Executive Director
Appointed: 2013

Sue Filby

Sue has particular expertise in customer service, funding strategies and proposals, performance standards, and stakeholder engagement. Her expertise has been recognised by major awards.

She is also:

  • Facilitator of Behind Closed Doors.

Sue's previous roles have included:

  • Member of the Energy and Water Industry Ombudsman Board
  • Member of SA Financing Authority Advisory Board, History Trust of SA Board
  • Member of Flinders Medical Research Institute Advisory Board
  • Member of the Urban and Regional Development Advisory Committee
  • Member of the Hills Transit Board
  • Member of the Rural Solutions SA Board (Primary Industry and Resources SA)
  • Member of the Real Estate Institute Professional Standards Committee.
  • General Manager Customer Relations, SA Power Networks.

The awards that Sue has won include:

  • SA and National Telstra Business Woman of the Year Award for the private and corporate sector   (2007)
  • Executive of the Year Service Excellence Award (SA), Customer Service Institute of Australia   (2012).

David Ryan
Director and Chief Executive of SA Water
Appointed: November 2019

David Ryan SA Water Board

David joined SA Water in late 2019 as our Chief Executive, leading one of Australia’s largest integrated water utilities, serving more than 1.7 million customers across urban, regional and remote areas.

David is a dynamic water industry leader, known for shaping contemporary organisational culture to deliver water services oriented around the continual improvement of customer experience.

By championing key values fostered through his background in regional Australia, such as sustainability, diversity and customer-centricity, David works to ensure water services help build and enhance communities and enable economic development.

Prior to joining SA Water, David was Managing Director of Melbourne’s City West Water, and held executive roles at bulk water company Melbourne Water in operations and capital delivery, waterway management and customer solutions.

  • Major faults

  • Underway

  • Polkinghorns Rd
  • Arthurton
  • 18/06/2020
  • Water Supply On
  • 18/06/2020 03:05 PM - We are attending to an incident in Arthurton with no interruption to the water supply. The safety of our crews and customers comes first, and we always aim to minimise inconvenience by restoring services as quickly as we can. Reference Number WO: 07505663.
  • See all major faults

  • Scheduled works

  • Underway
  • Spruance Rd
  • Elizabeth East
  • 11/06/2021
  • Temporary Supply Interruption
  • Estimated start time and water supply off: 15/06/2021 09:00 AM
    Estimated restore time and water supply back on: 15/06/2021 04:00 PM

    We’re improving your services and undertaking maintenance work in Elizabeth East. Sometimes our crews need to temporarily interrupt the water supply to our customers and/or manage traffic while they are working. Temporary traffic management may remain in place until reinstatement of the impacted road is complete. We always aim to minimise inconvenience by restoring services as safely and quickly as we can.

  • See all scheduled works